Alvin Speaks! Guest Post from the author of “Fragment”

alvin

Hello… (Echo: hello…hello). Ah yes, the “who is this guy again?” silence. First of all, I’d like to thank Morgan for allowing me to have a guest post here. It’s an honor to step into the domain of the author who wrote A Spell in the Country. Seriously, just waltzing up into her territory, invited. Oh god, not the broom!

*Ahem*

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Alvin Atwater, author of the Fragment series, The Destined series, and Mind Control series. I guess I’m throwing the “series” word around a lot but that’s how I write. I’m one of those naive authors that grow attached to his own characters and find himself planning and writing multiple books starring said characters. It hurts to know that I may be planning to “off” a loved character eventually.
Anyway, I want to talk a little about how I set up my writing, how it flows.

 

I never told anyone about how I set up my writing so that it flows. Some of it is standard but then I take it up a notch.

I only recently started using outlines. I had to pull myself from that “high horse”- Wing-It-All-writer to the Want-to-Finish-a-Novel-in-a-Timely-Manner-author. Outlines are still not my favorite thing but are helpful if I get stuck. I don’t need to outline short stories or novelettes.

I keep a composition book for each full novel. On one page could be: characters, foes, organizations.  Another page will have places (unless it takes place in just one city). Some pages will have major items, weapons, etc. And the list goes on.
Sometimes, I’d write chapters or rewrite chapters in these composition books.

But… I often take it up to the next power. Just having my world in the composition book isn’t enough. Oh no. When I’m alone or even on walks, in my head, I’d act out my character. Well…there are some times when I needed to really enhance a character to the point where I’d be he or she aloud, for just a few minutes.

I also act out scenes. Mainly when I come up with a major scene in a novel (especially after being stuck) I feel the need to get up (when I’m alone of course) and play out these scenes, my own body being the vessel. I’d be multiple characters. And scenes are always aloud, some partially in the head.

 

It’s not embarrassing since the acting out is mainly in the head and I’m alone. I’m no actor either but it does help enhance elements of the novel. When I read, write, or listen to audiobooks, I can see a world, a movie playing. Explains why I prefer audiobooks and literature over movies. (There are a few exceptions but isn’t that with every reader?)

 

No, I’m not a whack job! Writing is a passion for me. I don’t think I’ll ever run out of ideas, there’s always something to write about.

So next time you see Alvin Atwater as the author of a book you happen to glance at: Open it and check for my voice…

alvin fragment

https://www.amazon.com/Fragment-Alvin-J-Atwater/dp/1533069441

 

 

Leave a Reply

